Small Moments

This lovely day has consisted of:

pewter clouds scuttling across a pewter sky.

a delightful photography lesson with my has-an-eye-for-photography son and artsy daughter-in-law.

dust all over my computer.

a runny nose– probably from the dust.

all the laundry washed, dried, folded and put away.

pretty good Cajun leftovers for lunch.

a purple pen that writes perfectly.

wind rattling the screens on my office windows.

a challenging word game on my Ipad that I’m almost winning.

a 17-year-old laughing in my office.

pulling ruby beets and smelly onions out of the black soil.

a quick kiss from my husband.

lemon cookie dough in the mixing bowl.

time to meditate on God’s love for me.

Mostly trivial, small moments have made up the bulk of my day. I did nothing grand today or especially noteworthy, but isn’t that how most days are? Taking time to see those small incidents and things for the big blessings they are, can really turn my day into a special one of praise rather than boredom. Clouds bring life-giving rain from my Father to water my garden so all those fruits and veggies can feed us. (Ps. 147:15-18, 148:8) Diversity in interests and personality in the people in my life makes me appreciate God’s creativity in designing humans. (Is. 43:7, Ps. 100:3) My photography lesson reminds me God is here and active and creative and I can capture a little of His work through my lens. (Ps. 19:1) Completing my laundry tasks just feels good! And I can be thankful for my washer, detergent, dryer, electricity, my husband who pays the electric bill, the electric company who provides the electricity, my God who invented electricity and gives my husband a job so he can pay the bills, and for the clothes and sheets and towels and other sundry things boys leave in their pockets that get washed. I can also be thankful we’re all alive and energetic enough to get our clothes dirty. (Eph. 5:20) Kisses and cookies always brighten my day. They mean love is here and expressing itself beautifully. All these things are simple but they tell me I am blessed by God in so many ways. Too many to count. Sadly, too many that I miss… But He keeps on bestowing those blessings second after second and He always will. I don’t know why He would do that for me or you, but He does. Every day. Actually, I do know why – because He loves us. More than we can imagine. More than we are able to understand. (John 15:13) Because He’s God and that’s how he chooses to love. (1 John 4:9-10)

Even the not so wonderful things are blessings in disguise just waiting for us to look a little deeper and see the blessing hiding behind them. The dust, for example. Dust means my house is decaying and spewing itself on my computer. That’s a blessing because it reminds me that this life isn’t all there is. This planet and my house are passing away but there’s a better one coming! (Rev. 21:1) One where no decay or death or pain awaits. And no runny noses! I can really get excited about that and about Who I will get to see! What wonders await! Where blessing morphs into more blessing and sin is gone and we all love each other perfectly and laugh together and there are lots of lemon cookies. Wait. I just made up that last part but there will be a banquet in heaven and I’m hopeful there will be cookies there. Surely! (Rev. 19:7-9) And so I can rejoice in these thoughts because I wiped a little dust off my computer. Who knew dust and runny noses could be so wonderful?

Thanks be to God for small moments that make us worship Him!

What a lovely day God has given!

About One Who's Having a Lovely Day!

Hi Friend. I hate writing about myself but there's this little "About You" box I'm supposed to fill up so here's my attempt at that: I am the happily married wife of an awesome elder at our local Bible church. We've been hitched for 29+ years and have 5 amazing sons and 2 equally amazing daughters-in-law. I grew up in East Texas and currently live in North Texas on some acreage where we raise boys and various animals. I love my family, my friends, my church and my life, but mostly, I love Jesus. Not perfectly and not as much as I should, but He is my Savior and I love Him for being willing to save my wretched little self. OK. Enough about me!
This entry was posted in Good Life, Little Things, Thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

